Progressing Together

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about how far I have come since I’ve been married. I’ve encountered some old demons and found some new but I’ve never had more success battling them than when I am married.

With my husband by my side, I have begun to overcome so many things that I thought I would be stuck with for the rest of my life! Nothing horrible, just little personality flaws. For example, I am probably one of the most forgetful people. I can do an ENTIRE task like putting away clothes and then thirty minutes later look for that basket of clothes that I need to put away lol. I misplace my wedding rings, car keys, and cell phone on a regular basis. And although sometimes he gets frustrated with me, he has helped me work on being more conscientious of where I set things down. Of course, this works both ways. We help each other out.

I’ve been feeling worried lately that we had to hurry up and perfect ourselves because we never know when we are going to die and meet God. Not gonna lie- it’s been tough because I’ve felt that maybe my marriage won’t last because of all of the sin that we both have in our lives. I have been so crazy stressed about that it has been keeping me up at night worried.

But then last night it hit me- we don’t need to become perfect right now… we just need to be progressing together. We need to be working towards our common goal of getting into heaven and living together as a family forever. As long as we are trying our hardest and giving it our all and as long as we are progressing together we are okay.  God wants us to be perfect and to strive for perfection but He has promised us that if we give our absolute all- Jesus Christ, by grace, will make up the difference and make us perfect. If we are working our hardest and applying the Atonement of Jesus Christ, our marriages and families will make it.

xoxo rhaine

 

Leave a Reply

