Consecration in marriage

Marriage requires more than dedication- it requires consecration. A few posts back I brought up how in contract marriages each partner gives 50% and in covenant marriages each partner gives 100%. That’s the difference between dedication and consecration in marriage, respectively. When we consecrate ourselves to marriage we lay aside our own needs and wants and give ourselves to our spouse. I think the best way that I can illustrate this point is with a scripture.

“Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it” (Ephesians 5:23)

Think about the service that Christ gave for God and His Church.

I mean really think about it.

His entire life revolved around the service of God’s children, around loving them, around building them up, forgiving, and healing them. Christ, being innocent and perfect, suffered incomprehensible pain so that we can feel peace. He died for us so that we may live again. I mean honestly though- He never got a day off! Even on the Sabbath He continued to serve others.

Husbands, love your wives and wives, love your husbands in the same way that Christ loves us. After the pattern that He gave of living and dying for us. Just be like Christ ok? Make your life revolve around the service of your spouse, around loving them, building them up, forgiving, and healing them. Even when you aren’t deserving be willing to suffer so that they can feel peace!

My husband is so good at this…I had a superrrr rough day today at work (cause temper tantrums and potty-training are my not fav) and was stressed because I knew that I would come home to a messy house and still had at least 8 hours of homework to do. So he got up early (he works night shift at wakes up around 4pm) and cleaned the kitchen and did laundry before I got home from work so that I could do my homework without stressing about house cleaning. It’s amazing how simple acts of service like these can bring so much love into your marriage.

Just take it one day at a time and think about all of the little ways that you can serve, love, and support them 🙂

xoxo rhaine

Leave a Reply

