Why I quit being the butt-head wife

I’m the oldest of 9 children in my family (including steps and halves) …so I guess you could say that I’m pretty used to being in charge. I love my husband dearly and he is my best friend but despite that, it’s so incredibly easy for me to complain about his behavior. Small things like- please put the toilet lid down, put your dishes in the dishwasher, and dang that show looks violent maybe you should turn it off! I’m not really sure what changed but one day I woke up and sort of realized that I was being a total punk to him! I began to see putting the dishes and dirty socks away as an act of service to him and ways to show that I love him. In the grand spectrum of things what’s more important: getting him to pick up his dirty socks every once in a while or a healthy, loving, and service filled marriage?

“Avoid ‘ceaseless pinpricking.’ Don’t be too critical of each other’s faults. Recognize that none of us is perfect. We all have a long way to go to become as Christlike as our leaders have urged us to become.

“ ‘Ceaseless pinpricking,’ as President Spencer W. Kimball called it, can deflate almost any marriage. … Generally each of us is painfully aware of our weaknesses, and we don’t need frequent reminders. Few people have ever changed for the better as a result of constant criticism or nagging. If we are not careful, some of what we offer as constructive criticism is actually destructive” – Elder Joe J. Christensen

Not one of us is perfect so let’s try to stop demanding perfection from our spouse and instead give them the love and support that they need in order to attain it. A.K.A you’re not perfect and neither is he so stop whining cause nagging him ain’t goin’ nowhere.

xoxo rhaine

Leave a Reply

