A defense for traditional marriage

I find it interesting that people who demand that others respect their point of view rarely respect the opposing side. While reading this blog post, you might find that the ideas shared are not in line with your own views or perceptions. I just ask that you respect my ideas and faith like you would hope for me to respect your own 🙂 .

I want to write about God’s plan for marriage for us. God is our loving Father in Heaven. He loves us and wants the absolute best for us in life. Marriage comes from God- it was instituted by Him and is a blessing for all of His children. In the beginning, He created Adam and Eve (a man and a woman) who were married, had lots of children, and so began our idea of traditional marriage. Marriage has been and still is an important part of our society. However, with time, the world is changing the definition of marriage. In 2015, the Supreme Court of the United States ruled that gay marriage is legal in all states in the case Obergefell v. Hodges. But the thing is it doesn’t matter if the Supreme Court ruled in favor of gay marriage or if every single person in the world feels that it should be legalized because men (and women) and cannot change what God has declared- we don’t have the authority to go above Him and change His laws.

President Nelson, a leader in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, declared “Social and political pressures to change marriage laws are resulting in practices contrary to God’s will regarding the eternal nature and purposes of marriage. Man simply cannot make moral what God has declared to be immoral. Sin, even if legalized by man, is still sin in the eyes of God.”

God has always intended marriage to be between a man and a woman. Men and women complement each other physically, emotionally, and spiritually. We were created to be partner’s in this life through the sacred union of marriage.

I know that’s a bold thing for me to say but I honestly believe it. I’m not a so called homophobic. I think that homosexual people are just as kind as the next person in all honesty. I love them and I don’t judge them at all. I believe that feeling same-gender attraction is real but still I don’t believe they should act upon those tendencies.

I know that God lives and that this is His plan for marriage.

Wow that was a lot harder for me to put out there than it should have been! We proclaim religious freedom in America (and of course there is much more here than in other countries!) but we still put others down for their religious beliefs. I’ve heard that my religious beliefs are not a viable reason to not support gay pride. Wow…. is our freedom of religion decaying in America?

xoxo rhaine

https://speeches.byu.edu/talks/russell-m-nelson_disciples-jesus-christ-defenders-marriage/

https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/14pdf/14-556_3204.pdf

Leave a Reply

